top of page

Schools of Choice

Non-Resident Students - Allegan Area Educational Service Agency Non-Resident & 150c

The Allegan Area ESA Allegan Area Count Program (Non-Resident) is intended to provide academic options to enhance the learning for students and to foster a cooperative environment to benefit all districts.

The eight school districts in Allegan County, with support from Allegan Area ESA, are offering a Section 105(c) Schools of Choice Program for the 2022-2023 school year. This program allows students of families who reside in Barry, Kent, Ottawa, and VanBuren ISD/ESA school districts a choice to attend Allegan, Fennville, Glenn, Hopkins, Martin, Otsego, Plainwell, or Wayland School Districts. Non-Resident is being offered to all students who reside within Allegan County and wish to attend any of the listed Allegan County public schools.

Districts with Allegan County partner to allow open enrollment periods for residents within the Allegan Area ESA district. 

Each school district within the Allegan Area ESA shall determine annually if it will accept non-resident students. The school districts shall publish the grades for which enrollment may be available to non-resident applicants. If a school district has a limited number of positions available for non-resident applicants, the district shall:

  • Provide notice to the general public of the number of openings available, and the manner and the place for submitting applications.

  • Use a random draw "lottery" system conducted by the Allegan County Schools of Choice committee.

  • Develop and maintain a waiting list based on the order in which non-resident applicants were drawn under this lottery. If positions become available after the lottery drawing, applicants shall be selected from this waiting list.

  • Contact and enroll all applicants no later than the end of the first week of school.

A school district may refuse enrollment to a non-resident Schools of Choice student that has been suspended within the past two (2) years, or has ever been expelled.

Non-resident applicants residing in the same household shall receive preference over other applicants.

Schools of Choices students must meet the same criteria as resident students to be accepted for enrollment in a grade or specialized program.

The receiving district is not required to provide transportation to a non-resident student. In the event a special education student enrolls through Schools of Choice, the transportation will be determined by the student's individualized education plan (IEP).

Under the Schools of Choice legislation (Section 105 and 105c of the School Aid Act), kindergarten through fifth grade students residing within Allegan Area ESA may apply to Glenn Public School.

bottom of page